Death Penalty Focus Award Recipients These civil rights activists, artists, and humanitarians are recognized for their contribution to our effort to abolish the death penalty.

1996

Abolition Award: Rubin "Hurricane" Carter Abolition Award: Kiefer Sutherland Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Gov. Mario Cuomo

1997

Aline and Norman Felton Humanitarian Award: Chief Justice Rose Elizabeth Bird Abolition Award: Sean Penn The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Rev. Jesse Jackson Sr.

1998

Abolition Award: Senator John Burton The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Larry Fox (on behalf of the American Bar Association) The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Steven Allen The Aline and Norman Felton Humanitarian Award: Bud Welch

1999

The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: David Protess and Lawrence Marshall The Aline and Norman Felton Humanitarian Award: Linda and Peter Biehl The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Norman Jewison

2000

Abolition Award: Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee The Aline and Norman Felton Humanitarian Award: Rabbi Leonard Beerman The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Senator Russ Feingold The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: David E. Kelley and Robert Breech and the Cast of The Practice

2001

The Aline and Norman Felton Humanitarian Award: Murder Victims' Families for Reconciliation Abolition Award: Cardinal Roger M. Mahony The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Gov. George H. Ryan The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Aaron Sorkin, Thomas Schlamme and the Cast of The West Wing

2002

The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Rev. James Lawson Justice and Media Award: Studs Terkel The Mario Cuomo Act of Courage Award: Congresswomen Barbara Lee The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Stanley Sheinbaum Abolition Award: Danny Glover

2003

The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Patch Adams Justice in Media and Arts Award: Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen Abolition Award: Ramona Ripston The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: President of Mexico, Vicente Fox Quesada The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Gov. George H. Ryan 2004

The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Aqeela Sherrills Justice in Media and Arts Award: Robert Wise Abolition Award: Bishop Gabino Zavala The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Harry Belafonte The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: First Lady Rosalynn Carter

2005

The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Bishop Henry Williamson Justice in Media and Arts Award: Bradley Whitford and Jane Kaczmarek Abolition Award: Senator Edward Kennedy The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Sister Helen Prejean The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Andy and Deborah Rappaport

2006

Abolition Award: Barry Scheck Justice in Media and the Arts Award: Carl Reiner The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Rev. George Regas The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Dorothy Ehrlich The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award:Vicki Riskin and David W. Rintels Lifetime Achievement Award: Assemblyman Mervyn M. Dymally Special Award to Activist Exonerees: Gloria Killian, Tom Goldstein and Greg Wilhoit The Mike Farrell Human Rights Award: Mike Farrell (Inaugural)

2007

The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Robert Greenwald The Mike Farrell Human Rights Award: Senator George McGovern The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Max Palevsky and Jodie Evans Justice in the Arts: David E. Kelley The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage: Kamala D. Harris 2007 Abolition Award: Bishop Thomas J. Gumbleton

2008

The Mike Farrell Human Rights Award: Sid Sheinberg The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage: Julian Bond The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Sarah Timberman and Ed Redlich Justice in the Arts: John Grisham Special Recognition for Outstanding Achievement on behalf of Social Justice: Melody Ermachild, Henry Weinstein, and Dr. Arthur Zitrin The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Azim Khamisa 2008 Abolition Award: New Jersey Governor Jon Corzine and New Jerseyans for Alternatives to the Death Penalty

2009

The Mike Farrell Human Rights Award: New Mexico Governor Bill Richardson The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Jeanne Woodford The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: John Van de Kamp Justice in the Arts Award: Nancy Miller The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Bryan Stevenson Abolition Award: Nick McKeown

2010

Justice in the Arts Award: Alec Baldwin The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Paul Haggis The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Sherry & Leo Frumkin The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: Sister Suzanne Jabro, CSJ Abolition Award: Richard Dieter

2011

Justice in the Arts Award: Hilary Swank The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Lance Lindsey The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Thomas Schlamme The Norman Felton and Denise Aubuchon Humanitarian Award: The Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange Abolition Award: Death Penalty Clinic at University of California, Berkeley, School of Law (Elisabeth Semel & Ty Alper) Human Rights Award: Stephen Bright Courageous Leadership Award: The Honorable Pat Quinn, Governor of Illinois

2012

Justice in the Arts Award: MC Hammer

The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Denise Foderaro Quattrone The Norman Felton and Denise Abuchon Humanitarian Award: Father Gregory Boyle Abolition Award: The West Memphis 3: Jason Baldwin, Damien Echols, Jessie Misskelley Abolition Award: The West Memphis 3 Defense Team: Patrick Benca, Stephen Braga, Michael Burt, Blake Hendrix, Donald Horgan, John Phillipsborn, Dennis Riordan, Jeff Rosenzweig, Deborah Sallings, Lonnie Soury and Lorri Davis, leader of the movement to free the West Memphis 3

2013

Human Rights Award: Norman Felton (posthumously) The Norman Felton and Denise Abuchon Humanitarian Award: Javier Stauring Abolition Award: Proposition 34 Leaders, represented by: Natasha Minsker, Obie Anthony, Arnold & Porter, LLP/ Steven L. Mayer, Ron Briggs, California Catholic Conference, Franky Carrillo, Gil Garcetti, Miriam Gerace, Donald Heller, Paula Mitchell, SEIU Local 721, Steve Smith, Bethany Webb Justice in the Arts Award: James Cromwell

2014

The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: The Honorable Martin O'Malley, Governor of Maryland Human Rights Award: Juan E. Mendez, United Nations Special Rapporteur on Torture Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Millman, Executive Director of the California Appellate Project Justice in the Arts Award: Peter Sarsgaard and Veena Sud, on behalf of The Cast and Crew of "The Killing"

2015

Justice in the Media Award: Alex Gibney, Bred Hebert, Laura Michalchyshyn on behalf of Death Row Stories Abolition Award: Dale Baich, Assistant Federal Public Defender Lifetime Achievement Award: Rabbi Leonard Beerman

The Rose Elizabeth Bird Commitment to Justice Award: Death row exonerees Kwame Ajamu, Wiley Bridgeman, and Ricky Jackson along with their attorneys Terry Gilbert, Mark Godsey, Brian Howe and David Mills.

2016

Abolition Award: Sir Richard Branson The Norman Felton and Denise Abuchon Humanitarian Award: Dolores Huerta Justice in the Arts and Media: Jackson Browne

2017

Abolition Award: Senator Bernie Sanders The Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage of Award: Judy Clarke and Speedy Rice Justice in the Arts Award: Joan Baez

2018

"Fighting for their Lives" Annual Event in Los Angeles Lifetime Achievement Award: Reverend James Lawson

2019

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tony Amsterdam Abolition Award: Hon. Renny Cushing Mario Cuomo Acts of Courage Award: Mike Farrell